Look, Chuck Norris Jokes Suck. And The Dos Equis Guy is No Better

08Aug12
chuck norris joke, funny, humor, stupid

I tell you this, and the first thing you’re going to do is try to rebound with a Chuck Norris joke.

“Maybe I haven’t heard the most hilarious one that is sure to make me laugh and change my mind entirely about the whole thing!” Or, you understand, so instead you’ll tell me the inside joke describing a stony, strange drama professor you had in college. He passes up the fruity cereal kind to eat actual pebbles for breakfast??!

Look, now I have to polite laugh since I care enough about your feelings and our relationship to not retort on the still very dumb bruteness of these jokes and how I DON’T LIKE CHUCK NORRIS JOKES.  Maybe you’re defending yourself, and it’s nothing against you and your tastes – though I don’t agree with or relate on this one -but I won’t be convinced otherwise.

And, are you into those Dos Equis guy advertisements? …that pause says it all…

What is it with this reinvention of the Chuck Norris joke to sell Dos Equis?
What does this purple silk scarf, black velvet robe wearing man with a smirk on his gray-bearded face have to say to men (to people!) about what’s smart and cool, and oh, happens to be purchasable in cheap alcohol form?

The Dos Equis (apparently) ‘Most Interesting Man in The World’

I just Googled “Dos Equis quotes” to get some images, and OH GOD, IT’S WORSE THAN I THOUGHT!  Policymic.com’s decided to share “22 of the Best Dos Equis ‘Most Interesting Man’ Quotes,” with this grandiose introductory sentence:

“Dos Equis beer has created a fictional character that all men envy and strive to emulate, a modern day James Bond, if you will.”

“THAT ALL MEN ENVY??” and “STRIVE TO EMULATE??”

Please, men, don’t strive to emulate this dude. This, Dos Equis Man.

It does not, in fact, make you ‘an interesting man’ to condescend other people with your so apparent wit. It is not captivating, whatsoever, to find contrived ways to talk about yourself under the veil of humor. I AM NOT INTRIGUED TO KNOW ANYTHING MORE ABOUT A MAN WHO SELF-SATISFACTORILY CHUCKLES ABOUT MADE-BELIEVE CONQUESTS THAT ARE PETTY.

 

…That is all.

One Response to “Look, Chuck Norris Jokes Suck. And The Dos Equis Guy is No Better”

  1. I’m no longer sure the place you’re getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend a while studying much more or understanding more.
    Thank you for excellent info I was searching for this information for my mission.


Leave a Reply

